AAFA Overview

  1. Home
  2. »
  3. AAFA Overview

Aberdeenshire AFA

Some description text for this item

The Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association has a membership of 60 clubs and is currently one of the largest amateur football associations in Scotland. The Association was formed in 1947 and its coverage extends to both the City of Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire. The Association is affiliated to the Scottish Amateur Football Association (“SAFA”), which celebrated its centenary in 2009, and the aims of the Association are to foster and develop the game of amateur football in the local area.

League Structure

The AAFA clubs are divided into five leagues – a Premier Division, two First Division sections (North and East) and two Second Division sections (North and East). The system of promotion and relegation allows new clubs to reach the Premier Division within two seasons.

The Champions in the respective leagues in season 2023-24 were as follows:

  • Premier Division: Cowie Thistle
  • Division One (North): Great Western United
  • Division One (East): Tolbooth
  • Division Two (North): Kintore
  • Division Two (East): FC Polska

A Player of the Year award is made to the outstanding player in each division, based on man of the match votes from opponents in league games throughout the season. A Divisional Fair Play trophy is also awarded to the team in each division with the fewest disciplinary points throughout the season.

Cup Competitions

All AAFA Clubs are eligible to enter the Scottish Amateur Cup competition. The first two rounds are drawn on a regional basis and there is a national draw from the third round onwards.

AAFA Clubs are also eligible to enter the North of Scotland Amateur Cup which is one of seven regional cup competitions run under the auspices of the Scottish Amateur Football Association.

The AAFA also organises a range of cup competitions for member clubs each season. The most prestigious of these is the Aberdeen FC Trophy, which was donated to the Association by Aberdeen Football Club in season 1947-48. The Aberdeen FC Trophy is a knock-out cup competition for all 71 member clubs. The two other main AAFA cup competitions are the Association Trophy (contested by clubs at Premier and First Division level) and the Dickie Trophy (contested by clubs at Second Division level).

In addition, there is a knockout league cup competition for each division, as follows:

  • Premier Division – Premier Trophy
  • Division One (North) – Stephen Shield
  • Division One (East) – White Cup
  • Division Two (North) – Castle Rovers Cup
  • Division Two (East) – Barclay Cook Cup

The Edmond Trophy is contested by the clubs who lose in the first round of the Aberdeen FC Trophy. The Bowie Cup is contested by the clubs who lose in the first round of the Association Trophy. The Hans Fyfe Trophy is contested by the clubs who lose in the first round of the Dickie Trophy.

The Ian Napier Memorial Shield is contested annually by the Division One (North) and Division One (East) champions from the previous season. The John Todd Memorial Trophy was introduced in season 2009/10 and is contested by the top two clubs from the Premier Division in the previous season.

Office Bearers

The elected Office Bearers in season 2023/24 are as follows:-

President – Jim Napier (Kintore)
Vice-President and Registrations Secretary – Steven Hill
Association Secretary and Match Secretary – Martin Smith
Disciplinary Secretary – Larry Officer
Treasurer – David Fleming

General Committee Meetings

General Committee Meetings of all clubs are held every two months. Dates for the the 2023/24 season are:

  • Thursday TBC October 2024
  • Thursday TBC January 2025
  • Thursday TBC March 2025
  • Tuesday TBC May 2025
  • Thursday TBC June 2025 – AGM

All meetings are held in the East End Social Club Lounge starting at 6.30pm.


The five AAFA leagues will be sponsored by Soccer World in season 2024/25. Healthy Business Healthy You will sponsor the Association Trophy and Dickie Trophy in season 2024/25.

The Association would like to extend its thanks to our sponsors for their support.

Joining Us

Any club which is interested in joining the Association in season 2025/26 should contact the Association Secretary by 30th April 2025.

Any club wishing to transfer from another Association in season 2025/26 should contact the Association Secretary before 31st March 2025.

General Committee Meetings

Upcoming Meetings

Some description text for this item